Kingdom of Ash

Title: Kingdom of Ash
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass, 7/7
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Release Date: October 23rd, 2018

Note: This post reviews the seventh and final book of the Throne of Glass series. You may like to read the first six books in the series, Throne of Glass, Crown of MidnightHeir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms, and Tower of Dawn before reading this review.

Additional Note: Though this series is considered to be Young Adult, I consider the sexual content in Kingdom of Ash to be more New Adult than Young Adult. 

In this final installment of the Throne of Glass series, Aelin Galathynius, the true queen of Terrasen, fights to save all of Erilea from the ancient evil of the Valg. Even though she is held prisoner for months by Maeve, the Queen of the Fae and Aelin’s aunt, Aelin refuses to break. She stays strong for those she loves and to her cause to destroy Maeve and the Valg.

Meanwhile, her Fae mate, Rowan, fights ceaselessly to save Aelin from her living hell. The rest of her friends and allies, including Aedion, Lysandra, Chaol, Dorian, and Manon, all have their own battles to fight across Erilea. Unexpected friendships are formed and previous relationships solidified, while others are severed forever.

In the end, all are united in one common cause – to destroy the Valg once and for all and to seal the gate so that none can ever return. As they fight to save all of Erilea, it will cost Aelin and her friends everything. For some of them, their very lives.

Click on the (affiliate) links below to get your copy of this book and the others in its series:

The Power of Moments

Title: The Power of Moments
Author: Chip Heath & Dan Heath
Genre: Business, Nonfiction, Self Help
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: October 3rd, 2017

This book was recommended to me by my brother-in-law upon starting my organizing business (, and now I get to recommend it to you! The Power of Moments, however, is not just for business owners or entrepreneurs. It’s for anyone wanting to make the most of life.

The Heath brothers talk about defining moments – “meaningful experiences that stand out in our memory.” Many defining moments “happen” to us, but in many cases, we can create them, instead of just waiting for them. There are 4 elements that create defining moments:

Defining moments rise above the everyday.

Defining moments rewire our understanding of ourselves or the world.

Defining moments capture us at our best.

Defining moments are social – we share them with others.

Something that stood out to me under “insight” was this: “You can’t appreciate the solution until you appreciate the problem.” I read this over and over, and it prompted me to make some changes to the website for my business. (Why would people hire me to organize their home if they aren’t first convinced of their need for help?)

When it comes to understanding someone and making a real connection, the Heath brothers propose a question that leads to responsiveness: “What matters to you?” For businesses like mine that focus on client satisfaction, this question is a game-changer. Only when you better understand your client can you better serve them.

I will leave you with one last piece of inspiration: “Some entrepreneurs win, some entrepreneurs lose. What they share is a willingness to put themselves in a situation where they can fail.”

Click on the (affiliate) link below to get your copy of this book: