Title: Ignite
Author: Sara B. Larson
Series: The Defy Trilogy, book 2/3
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, YA
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: December 30th, 2014

Note: This posts reviews the second book of The Defy Trilogy. You may like to read the first book in the series, Defy, before reading this review.

Mild spoilers.

King Damian has recently ascended to the throne after removing his own father from a reign of tyranny. As he strives to rebuild Antion after so many years of suffering, Damian can see no one at his side but Alexa, ruling the kingdom with him. But she convinces herself that she would not be good for Damian, or the kingdom of Antion. She resigns herself to remaining Damian’s personal guard.

Soon after the death of King Hector, two powerful sorcerors, Lady Vera and her brother Rafe, come to the palace disguised as friends from Dansii. As Damian falls under the enchantment of Vera, his younger brother Jax is abducted by Rafe. Alexa and Rylan set out to rescue him, but their quest is not without sacrifice. Little does Alexa know that Damian is under Vera’s enchantment. Vera has made him believe that he really loves her, and orders him to kill Alexa. 
Sara B. Larson put herself in a difficult position with this sequel, after her first book was so captivating. She did not disappoint, leaving us once again on the edge of our seat! This is by far the best middle book of a trilogy that I have ever read.

If you enjoyed this review, please consider following Reads & Roses. It would mean the world to have you on my team!


Reads and Roses is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s